Events

Thumbnail Title & description Theme

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 20 April 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 24 April 2015

LIVE LATE: Dirtyface Live

Join us for a night of art, music, live mural painting and have-a-go creative activity hosted in collaboration with dirtyface.co.uk.

Friday 24 April 2015

Introduction to Lino Printing

Taking inspiration from the Edward Bawden exhibition, learn how to make your own one-colour prints in an introductory workshop led by local artist, James Green.

Hands on Saturday 25 April 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 27 April 2015

Lunchtime Talk: The Hallmarking of Precious Metals

Emma Paragreen will cover the history of hallmarking and the work of the Sheffield Assay Office over the last 242 years.

Talks and tours Thursday 30 April 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 1 May 2015

Lunchtime Talk: What’s in Your Knife Drawer?

The contents of the average knife drawer reveal a wealth of information about the development of Sheffield’s core industry. Find out more with Joan Unwin, archivist to Sheffield’s Company of Cutlers.

Talks and tours Thursday 7 May 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 8 May 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 11 May 2015

Lunchtime Talk: The Exhibition Cutlery of Joseph Rodgers & Sons

Join historian Geoffrey Tweedale to discover more about Joseph Rodgers & Sons, Sheffield’s leading cutlery manufacturer in the 19th century.

Talks and tours Thursday 14 May 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 15 May 2015

Sewing Workshop with Mister Finch

Join textile artist Mister Finch for a special one-off workshop and create your own piece of textile magic to take home.

Hands on Saturday 16 May 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 18 May 2015

Lunchtime Talk: From Bar to Blade to Cutlery

Alison Duce, Curator at Kelham Island Museum, gives an overview of the processes involved in making cutlery and a look at the range of Sheffield trades linked to the industry.

Talks and tours Thursday 21 May 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 22 May 2015

Sound Recording Weekend with Chris Watson

Legendary Sheffield sound recordist Chris Watson returns to lead an inspiring weekend of have-a-go sound recording for all abilities.

Hands on Saturday 23 May 2015

Friends Preview: Sheffield’s New Metalwork Gallery

The Millennium Gallery has also had a transformation of its own and in June we will be unveiling the city’s brand new Metalwork Gallery.

Friends' events Thursday 28 May 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 1 June 2015

Lunchtime Talk: The Illustrated Aviary

Join Louise Pullen, Curator of the Ruskin Collection, for the chance to look through some of the beautifully illustrated ornithological books from T.C. Eyton’s historic library and bird print collection.

Talks and tours Wednesday 3 June 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 5 June 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 8 June 2015

Lunchtime Talk: Taylor Wessing Photography Prize

Phillip Prodger, Head of Photographs at the National Portrait Gallery will take you on a tour of the Taylor Wessing Photography Prize, on tour to the Millennium Gallery.

Talks and tours Thursday 11 June 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 12 June 2015

Cutting Edge: Celebrating Sheffield Cutlery

Join us with some of our local partners as we celebrate the rich history of Sheffield’s cutlery industry.

Family Sunday 14 June 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 15 June 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 19 June 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 22 June 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 26 June 2015

Friends Illustrated Lecture: Waterloo - The Art of Battle & Battle as Art

Join us on a summer evening in Millennium Gallery for an illustrated lecture from Sheffield Hallam University Lecturer Professor Bruce Collins.

Friends' events Saturday 27 June 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 29 June 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 3 July 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 6 July 2015

Lunchtime Talk: Memories of Dr Frank Constantine, OBE

Janet Barnes, CBE will reflect on the significance of Frank Constantine’s role in the development of Sheffield’s galleries and cultural life.

Talks and tours Thursday 9 July 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 10 July 2015

Portrait Photography Workshop

Join Chris for the day to find out how he creates his images and how to improve your own portrait photography, including post production.

Hands on Saturday 11 July 2015

Craft Club

Get involved in making and creating using knitting, stitching and crochet in a laid back, creative atmosphere, led by volunteer crafters.

Hands on Monday 13 July 2015

Life Drawing

Develop your drawing skills working from a nude model with support from one of our regular artist tutors.

Hands on Friday 17 July 2015

Tramlines Festival

The Millennium Gallery transforms into a music stage for Sheffield’s biggest live music festival.

Performance Friday 24 July 2015

Life Drawing in a Day

Join one of our experienced tutors and develop your drawing skills working from a nude model.

Hands on Saturday 19 September 2015